top of page

Peek into 'Bharathanatyam'


Bharathanatyam is one of the oldest and most popular forms of Indian classical dance. The name ‘Bharthanatyam’ constitutes three primary ingredients, which includes mood (Bhava), music (Raga), rthythm (Thala) and dance (Natayam). Its performance repertoire includes three main elements, nritta, nritya and natya.

‘Nritta’ is a technical performance emphasizing speed, pattern and rhythmic aspects without any form of interpretive aspect. In ‘Nritya’,  the dancer communicates a story, message or feelings through expressive gestures and body movements harmonized with musical notes. ‘Natyam’ is dramatic story-telling where the dancer plays multiple characters to tell the story which is communicated through dance-acting. 

Bharathanatyam comprises of a set of sequence namely Alarippu, Jatiswaram, Shabdam, Varnam, Padam and Thillana. The dancer communicates through the language of intricate footwork, hand gestures (mudras) and facial expressions (navarasas).

Nandanam Arts
Malavika and Pooja's World of Dance


Aramandi (half sit) and Muzhumandi (full sit)

Hand Gestures:

Bharathanatyam Postures:

Today, Bharathanatyam is not only limited to India, but is a global dance practice. Performing the dance takes years of devotion and rigorous training. This repertoire today is infused with both the richness of traditions from the past and the courage for innovation inspired by the present.

bottom of page